Volunteer of the Year Award

This award was established by Scott Gilliam and presented at his Fall Conference in 2003. Originally, this award was given to the person who volunteered above and beyond with preparations to make the Fall Conference a success. It was presented to:

2003 Patty Nocek2004 Patty Nocek2005 Kelli Whiting

Chris Ulsas Volunteer of the Year Award

In 2006 the Volunteer of the Year Award was changed to the Chris Ulsas Volunteer of the Year Award. This award has been given out each year in honor of Chris Ulsas' unwavering volunteerism as an IEHA member. Chris was an Environmental Health Scientist with the Indiana State Department of Health's On-site Sewage System Program and a very active member of IEHA. He was kind and giving and always looked for ways to help the Association. Chris had a servant's spirit and was active in other charitable organizations as well. Chris never sought out recognition for all the work he did behind the scenes. He especially enjoyed the IEHA Fall Educational Conference and helped to make them instructive and also fun. Chris passed away unexpectedly on April 28, 2006.

In order to honor Chris and his humble and quiet contributions, this award is not one that is chosen based on an application. This award will be given at the discretion of the President-Elect each year at the Annual Fall Educational Conference. The President-Elect will look at the entire membership and give this award to the person they feel is volunteering and giving the most to IEHA, in whatever arena they see fit. It has been presented to:

Sharon Adams 2006 2007 Hendricks County Health Department 2008 Sandra Parks 2009 2010 Kelli Whiting 2011 Tara Renner 2012 Sylvia Garrison 2013 **Ed Norris** 2014 Mindy Waldron 2015 **Margaret Voyles** 2016 Russ Mumma 2017 Gretchen Quirk 2018 Chris Borowiecki 2019 Patty Nocek 2020 Not Presented (conference canceled due to COVID-19 Pandemic) 2021 Mike Mettler 2022 Reba Taylor-Hill